About GameCulture

Posted by Pro Helvetia | July 12, 2010

Sprache: English | Français


GameCulture – ein Programm der Schweizer Kulturstiftung Pro Helvetia

Computer sind zu unserem wichtigsten Arbeitsinstrument geworden – und gleichzeitig auch unser liebstes Spielzeug. Games gehören heute zur Alltagskultur. Der Markt boomt, die Spielindustrie ist zum umsatzstärksten Zweig der Kulturwirtschaft aufgestiegen. Immer mehr Menschen sind damit beschäftigt, die zunehmend komplexeren digitalen Welten zu erschaffen. Spielproduzenten sind Auftraggeber für Künstler unterschiedlichster Sparten – von Designern über Drehbuchautoren bis hin zu Komponisten. Höchste Zeit also, dass sich auch die Kulturförderung mit diesem neuen Medium auseinandersetzt.

Mit dem Programm “GameCulture“ greift die Schweizer Kulturstiftung Pro Helvetia die gesellschaftlichen, wirtschaftlichen und ästhetischen Fragen rund um Computerspiele auf und beleuchtet sie als neue Kunstform. Vom Herbst 2010 bis 2012 thematisiert Pro Helvetia das Medium Computerspiele in drei verschiedenen Ausstellungen, einem „Call for Projects“ sowie diversen Podien und Konferenzen.

Im Rahmen dieses Programm lanciert Pro Helvetia zusammen mit Partnern die Onlineplattform www.gameculture.ch. Die Inhalte werden gemeinsam mit der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHDK), der Zürcher Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaft (ZHAW), der International Game Developers Association, Swiss Chapter (IGDA) und dem Swiss Gamers Network (SGN) erarbeitet.

Kontakt:

Pro Helvetia
Schweizer Kulturstiftung
Programm GameCulture
Hirschengraben 22
8024 Zürich
T +41 44 267 71 71

gameculture@prohelvetia.ch
www.prohelvetia.ch

Impressum:

Print- & Webdesign: Lopetz10, Büro Destruct
Web programming: Kaspar Lüthi, Humantools
Free Font “CMOD Subotron” by Paul Busk, Subotron


Highlights


Call for Projects: Swiss Games 2012/2013

New Call for Swiss Games
Read more


Play Gravity Lander

GravityLander Game

 

Safely land your rocket on Mars. Read more

 


Pro Helvetia - Schweizer Kulturstiftung Pro Helvetia - Schweizer Kulturstiftung

About GameCulture

Posted by Pro Helvetia | July 12, 2010

Language: Deutsch | Français

GameCulture – a programme of the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia

Computers have become our most important tool – and also our favourite toy. Games are now part of everyday culture. The market is booming and the games sector has turned into the segment of the culture industry with the highest turnover. It employs an increasing number of people producing ever more complex digital worlds. Games manufacturers commission artists of all kinds, ranging from designers to scriptwriters and composers. So it’s high time for organizations that promote the arts to tackle this new medium.

With its GameCulture programme, the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia is drawing attention to the social, economic and aesthetic aspects of computer games and exploring the characteristics of the genre as a new art form. Pro Helvetia will be exploring the medium of computer games from autumn 2010 to 2012, staging three different exhibitions, a call for projects and a number of panel discussions and conferences.

As part of this programme, Pro Helvetia is launching the online platform www.gameculture.ch in cooperation with its partners. The content is being prepared jointly with Zurich University of the Arts (ZHDK), Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW), the International Game Developers Association, Swiss Chapter (IGDA) and the Swiss Gamers Network (SGN).


Pro Helvetia
Swiss Arts Council
Programm GameCulture
Hirschengraben 22
8024 Zürich
T +41 44 267 71 71


Print- & Webdesign: Lopetz10, Büro Destruct
Web programming: Kaspar Lüthi, Humantools
Free Font “CMOD Subotron” by Paul Busk, Subotron


Call for Projects: Swiss Games 2012/2013

New Call for Swiss Games
Read more

Play Gravity Lander

GravityLander Game


Safely land your rocket on Mars. Read more


Pro Helvetia - Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia - Swiss Arts Council