About GameCulture

Posted by Pro Helvetia | July 12, 2010

Langue: English | Deutsch


GameCulture – un programme de Fondation suisse pour la culture Pro Helvetia

L’ordinateur est devenu notre principal outil de travail, et en même temps notre jouet favori. Les jeux vidéo font aujourd’hui partie de la culture quotidienne. Le marché en est en pleine expansion et, dans le domaine de l’industrie culturelle, le secteur des jeux a pris la tête du classement par chiffre d’affaires. Le nombre de gens occupés à la création de mondes numériques toujours plus complexes ne cesse de croître. Les producteurs de jeux donnent du travail à des artistes des disciplines les plus diverses, du concepteur au scénariste en passant par le compositeur. Il est donc grand temps que l’encouragement de la culture se penche sur ce nouveau média.

La Fondation suisse pour la culture Pro Helvetia lance le programme «GameCulture» afin d’étudier les questions sociales, économiques et esthétiques liées aux jeux vidéo et pour faire découvrir ceux-ci comme nouvelle forme d’art. De l’automne 2010 à 2012, Pro Helvetia met sur pied trois expositions différentes, lance un appel aux projets et organise diverses tables rondes et conférences autour de la question des jeux électroniques.

À l’enseigne de ce programme, Pro Helvetia et ses partenaires mettent en ligne la plateforme www.gameculture.ch, dont les contenus sont élaborés de concert avec la Haute école des arts de Zurich (ZHDK), la Haute école des sciences appliquées de Zurich (ZHAW), l’International Game Developers Association, Swiss Chapter (IGDA) et le Swiss Gamers Network (SGN).

Contact:

Pro Helvetia
Fondation suisse pour la culture
Programme GameCulture
Hirschengraben 22
8024 Zurich
T +41 44 267 71 71
gameculture@prohelvetia.ch
www.prohelvetia.ch

Impressum:

Print- & Webdesign: Lopetz10, Büro Destruct
Web programming: Kaspar Lüthi, Humantools
Free Font “CMOD Subotron” by Paul Busk, Subotron


Highlights


Call for Projects: Swiss Games 2012/2013

New Call for Swiss Games
Read more


Play Gravity Lander

GravityLander Game

 

Safely land your rocket on Mars. Read more

 


Pro Helvetia - Fondation suisse pour la culture Pro Helvetia - Fondation suisse pour la culture

About GameCulture

Posted by Pro Helvetia | July 12, 2010

Language: Deutsch | Français

GameCulture – a programme of the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia

Computers have become our most important tool – and also our favourite toy. Games are now part of everyday culture. The market is booming and the games sector has turned into the segment of the culture industry with the highest turnover. It employs an increasing number of people producing ever more complex digital worlds. Games manufacturers commission artists of all kinds, ranging from designers to scriptwriters and composers. So it’s high time for organizations that promote the arts to tackle this new medium.

With its GameCulture programme, the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia is drawing attention to the social, economic and aesthetic aspects of computer games and exploring the characteristics of the genre as a new art form. Pro Helvetia will be exploring the medium of computer games from autumn 2010 to 2012, staging three different exhibitions, a call for projects and a number of panel discussions and conferences.

As part of this programme, Pro Helvetia is launching the online platform www.gameculture.ch in cooperation with its partners. The content is being prepared jointly with Zurich University of the Arts (ZHDK), Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW), the International Game Developers Association, Swiss Chapter (IGDA) and the Swiss Gamers Network (SGN).


Pro Helvetia
Swiss Arts Council
Programm GameCulture
Hirschengraben 22
8024 Zürich
T +41 44 267 71 71


Print- & Webdesign: Lopetz10, Büro Destruct
Web programming: Kaspar Lüthi, Humantools
Free Font “CMOD Subotron” by Paul Busk, Subotron


Call for Projects: Swiss Games 2012/2013

New Call for Swiss Games
Read more

Play Gravity Lander

GravityLander Game


Safely land your rocket on Mars. Read more


Pro Helvetia - Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia - Swiss Arts Council